Faculty Governance

California Northstate University College of Medicine (CNUCOM) operates on the basis of shared governance with the interests of the entire faculty being represented by a Faculty Council Through the Council, faculty members review and make recommendations pertaining to academic policies, procedures, regulations, and other mission-critical concerns of the College. The Council elects faculty members to standing committees, several having direct involvement in decision-making, such as: Admissions Committee, Curriculum Committee, Assessment Committee, and Student Promotions Committee. Per Council bylaws, all faculty under contract with minimum of 0.2 FTE appointments - regardless of rank or administrative title - are included in announcements and meetings of the Faculty Council, and those members (exclusive of persons holding titles of assistant dean, associate dean or dean) constitute the voting membership. For the purpose of Council leadership, there is an elected five-member Executive Committee which includes a Chair. In turn, the Chair represents Faculty Council members at weekly meetings of the Dean's Executive Committee (DEC) and monthly meetings of the President's Executive Council with College of Medicine (PEC-COM). Executive Committee members also serve as College of Medicine representatives to the University Faculty Senate.